Code Reading

Leave a comment

June 27, 2012 by huionn

Today, I’ve come to realize that I acquire a least noteworthy skill from years of using open source software. That’s code reading.

I thought code reading is not something that can show off during interview or brag to peers. However after reading a blog which refers to the book “The Passionate Programmer”, with the analogy to musician, code reading is equivalent to “sight reading” (the ability to read and produce both instrumental and vocal music in brain).

Given a well-written framework or library, I can run the program in my brain to understand its behaviour. Then I can navigate through the classes to look for what I am seeking with relative ease.

Leave a Reply

